His Girl Friday


If you are like me, Fridays are a day for reflection.  How did the week go?  Hopefully I spent the majority of the week enjoying it and not wishing it was over.  Hopefully, too, I can look back on the week without grimacing, beating myself up for missed or flubbed opportunities.

On the occasions when I am grimacing–be it after reflection on a day, a week, a month–it is incredible helpful to say to myself, “It is over and done with.  I can’t go back and change it…no use crying over spilt milk.”

The same applies to our shortcomings and sins.  Whenever condemnation would settle onto your shoulders like a loaded car on its tires, say to yourself, “This sin is over and done with.  Jesus’ blood already covered it as an atonement.  The sin was nailed on that cross with Him once and for all.”  Grace, grace, God’s grace…it is enough.  Not just for getting through the day or a trying circumstance, but for our shortcomings and failures as well.  His grace is–was, on the cross–enough to wash us clean of any and every sin!

6 Remember, O Lord, your compassion and unfailing love,
      which you have shown from long ages past.
 7 Do not remember the rebellious sins of my youth.
      Remember me in the light of your unfailing love,
      for you are merciful, O Lord.

Psalm 25:6-7 (NLT)

Leave a comment