The Fat Lady is Silent


Rejection. Is there anyone who likes it? Show me a person who does and I’ll show you a person who either a) Is a masochist or b) Really likes challenges

I don’t know about you, but what helps me through difficult situations or issues is someone else’s experience — an inspirational or motivational story, if you will. When facing rejection–yet again–and am inclined to just give up, I think of Fred Astaire. After he did his first screen test, the testing director was less than impressed. These were his notes: “Can’t act. Can’t sing. Slightly bald. Can dance a little.” !!! Can you imagine if Astaire had given up? He is arguably one of the greatest dancers in American history – think what he and all of us would have missed out on if he called it quits!

There is also a writing exercise that Writer’s Digest likes to do from time to time. The assignment is to write a rejection letter to a best seller, i.e., reject J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series or Stephanie Meyers’ Twilight saga. It’s a good reminder for writers (and all of us), that sometimes it takes being knocked down by a lot of people before we find the ones who see our potential.

Thomas Edison, inventor of the lightbulb, once quipped: “I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.”  I like that phrase much better than “When life gives you lemons, make lemonade.”

Just the other day I read an article on Gisele Bundchen, Brazillian supermodel. She was rejected by 41 agents before finally getting one. 41!!! And now she is one of the world’s most recognized models and is on her way to becoming a billionare. That is some tenacity to keep trying rejection after rejection.

I like the challenge presented by the above examples – will I join the ranks of Astaire, Edison, and Bundchen?

It Ain’t Over

Another one bites the dust

But I’m still standing

Not a fan of lying down

Better vantage point up here

The possibilities are endless

2 thoughts on “The Fat Lady is Silent

  1. Must agree with the sentiment…once at university..the professor indicated that a particular media could not be produced with some equipment…in my final presentation I used that form of media created on that machine…he said “You just had to prove me wrong didn’t you?!” Love your spirit!

Leave a Reply

