A Rose By Any Other Name


“I dare write all that may become a woman, who dares write more is none.”  (Loose re-working of Shakespeare’s Macbeth.  Sorry, Will…you know I love you). 

I chipped away a bit today at my rather badly written story.  I’m editing very little.  It’s an excellent practice to have a “dump,” where the writer spews words all over the page.  Whatever comes out gets written down.  Perhaps there will be something salvageable, a kernel of a spectacular plot or character, but for the most part the exercise gets all the gunk out of a writer’s system, much like the rusty spray from a faucet turned on after long disuse.  It’s just lovely to be seeing a scene with my mind’s eye and then relaying it to paper.

I didn’t accomplish much by way of word count, but it’s of little consequence.  I felt I had reached my limit for the day and the rest of my writing should be devoted to more prompts (see yesterday’s post, That\’s My Cue!).

1)  Share a pick-up line you’ve heard that you really liked.  Or share one you tried that was successful.

Freshmen year of college, Introduction to Sociology.  I forget what the activity was–something to do with flirting or pick-up lines–I just remember two volunteers were requested during a class, a guy and girl.  They went to the front of the room and the guy says to the girl, “Baby, you’re so hot you make the elastic on my underwear melt.”  Cheesy?  Heck, yeah.  But it still cracks me up to this day!

2)  If you could be a character from any book you’ve read, who would you be?

Jane Eyre.  I adore her spunk, her resolve, her intelligence, her frank and insightful comments, and her Mr. Rochester…

3)  If you could choose any other name for yourself, what would it be?

When people forget my name, I like to tell them that it’s Shaniqua.  They do a double-take that’s quite amusing.  But seriously, I’m not fond of my name (sorry mom and dad), and would prefer many different names over the one I have.  It might be nice to have a softer name like Lacie, Emily, or Eva; or a little more unique/sprightly name like Bridgette, Bianca, Lexi, or Autumn.

4)  If your life was a movie, which one would it be and why?

Psycho?  🙂  Perhaps Anastasia.  I feel at times like a lost princess, not yet fully understanding who I am, where I’m from, and where I’m going; I’m only aware of a sense that there’s some part of me that has yet to be mined.  But I’m on my way!

5)  Pick a photo with people in it (online or your own), and write a fictional dialogue using those people.

Rosa:  There!  You look wonderful!

Billy:  So you think this color looks good on me?

Rosa:  Trust me, the girls will go crazy over you.

Billy:  I don’t know…I’ve never worn lipstick before…

Rosa:  It’s all the rage in Spain.  I am an expert on such things.

Billy:  You sure it doesn’t look funny on me?

Rosa:  No…no, it makes you look very, uh…

Billy:  You’re hesitating.

Rosa:  No, it’s just that you have bit on your teeth.  You look so distinguished, really!

Billy: Gee, what will the fellas back at base say?

Rosa:  They will be jealous!  Do you have any idea how many tubes of lipstick I sell to soldiers each week?  Ay…

Billy:  Well, alright.  How much do I owe you?

Rosa:  50 cents, a small fee.  The ladies will come in droves!

Mildred:  Is he wearing lipstick?

Louise:  He looks like a clown!  Really, men today!

2 thoughts on “A Rose By Any Other Name

    1. Haha, thanks. 🙂 I just try to diffuse any awkwardness and make it funny instead. I don’t know if it works…hopefully!

Leave a Reply

