Hit Snooze


This form really was challenging!  It took me about 2 weeks writing off and on to complete.

The paradelle is a 4-stanza poem.

  • Each stanza consists of 6 lines.
  • For the first 3 stanzas, the 1st and 2nd lines should be the same; the 3rd and 4th lines should also be the same; and the 5th and 6th lines should be composed of all the words from the 1st and 3rd lines and only the words from the 1st and 3rd lines.
  • The final stanza should be composed of all the words in the 5th and 6th lines of the first three stanzas and only the words from the 5th and 6th lines of the first three stanzas.

Don’t Wake Up

The cold inside makes me grip my ribs

The cold inside makes me grip my ribs

Try to hold the shattered pieces of my world 

Try to hold the shattered pieces of my world

My cold world grips the shattered pieces of

me, makes my ribs try to hold inside the…

***

…remnants of a perfect story carefully concocted, the

remnants of a perfect story carefully concocted, the

semblance of a life only dreamed of, never received

Semblance of a life only dreamed of, never received

A story concocted only of life remnants, a perfect semblance

of the received, never of carefully dreamed

***

I see you spill out of my world

I see you spill out of my world

Tipped over into reality, sloshing from my fragile fantasy

Tipped over into reality, sloshing from my fragile fantasy

You see my fragile reality, tipped into fantasy

Sloshing over from my world, I spill out of–

***

from–a perfect semblance of me, only shattered.

Pieces of me sloshing inside my ribs, makes the received spill over.

The cold remnants of my concocted life grip the fantasy world, makes me try

 a fragile story to carefully hold you. 

See, I never dreamed of

 my world tipped into—out of my–reality

One thought on “Hit Snooze

Leave a Reply

