Write? Of course write!


I “should be” writing something fictional right now — you know, working on this career I say I want to have.  But at this exact moment, I don’t care.  Blech.  Whatev.  So what.  In other words, I am indifferent and apathetic.  Department of redundancy department.  🙂

Instead, I am writing about not writing.  Weird. 

I am not entirely deterred.  I’ve still been writing creatively — it just hasn’t been on paper.  🙂  You should hear the things that go through my head at any given minute.  The most fun, creative phrases flit through my mind, the most amusing of which I allow to tumble around for a bit.  I’ll be on the bus, the street, in a store, walking down the hall at work when the phrase or idea will drop like rain into my thoughts.  I swallow the smile that twitches at my lips or let it play there if doing so will not land me in the funny farm.  And then I quietly curse myself for not having a notebook with me to jot down the idea.  Other times, though, I just let the thought be something that amused me for a moment and not writing material for a later date.

The small things.  What makes yesterday different from today, or this week different from last?  Yep, you guessed it, the small things.  🙂  And Jesus.  Always Jesus.  If I looked only at my daily living and routine, I might be inspired to empty my savings account and run off to the Bahamas for a bit, just to dispel the agony of repetition.  But if I look at my life with Jesus as the focal point, and with the constant reminder of God’s plan/destiny/visions/promises for me, each day–no, each moment–is imbued with hope and excitement.  Happiness.  Joy.  Delight.  And a heckofalot of laughter.  With Jesus, life is a continual feast (Prov. 15:15:  “For the despondent, every day brings trouble; for the happy heart, life is a continual feast.”). 

The enemy comes to “steal, kill, and destroy.” (John 10:10)  He isn’t out just for your soul, but your happiness, peace of mind, and security.  He even wants to rob your joy over a promotion, revitalized health, a relationship, or progress.  He hates us, remember?   But his attacks are sucker punches made up of lies, nothing more.  He seeks to distract you, to get you focused on yourself/shortcomings/circumstances — anything that takes your sight off of Jesus.  Why?  Because in God’s presence is fullness of joy, and at His right hand are pleasures forevermore (that’s in Psalms somewhere).  We are most effective and radiant when tapped into God’s presence!

Goodness…I’m a little off topic.  🙂  Just goes to show it’s all about Jesus, eh?  🙂

So I was saying.  I’m taking a bit of a breather from short stories and aspiring novels, but reveling in the renewed creativity in my thoughts.  And taking some time to read God’s writing and visions for my life!

Leave a Reply

