Steady Does It


I am working on the contest story, but finding it slow going.  Well, that’s not exactly true.  It’s actually just about done writing-wise.  It’s the editing part that has me biting my nails.

I think I’m a bit over 1K words right now, and it needs to be down to 750.  And you can’t exactly just slice and dice.  The abundance of words means the story is bloated and will need something of an overhaul.  Problem is, you get attached to what you’ve written and don’t want to lose any of it!  So…the key to good writing is to let a piece perculate for a bit.  I will probably pound away at it for a smidge longer today, and then not even glance at or think about it for several days.  For writing, absence makes the work grow better.

Leave a Reply

